Welcome to Japhy.co.uk

Got a record collection to sell?  Get In Touch for an honest valuation.

Adham Shaikh
Early Works (1992-1994) [PRE-ORDER]
re:discovery records
2 x 12"
Jan 2022
  • Media Condition:Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Condition:Mint (M)
  • Comments:[PRE-ORDER] - Please order separately to avoid delays with 'in stock' items.

    On behalf of re:discovery records, it is with great excitement that we announce the Adham Shaikh compilation titled 'Early Works 92-94'. Adham Shaikh is a treasured ambient, dub and keyboardist artist out of Vancouver Canada who's early to mid-90's tracks found their way to seminal labels like Instinct, Dossier, Interchill and his own label Modulation Elektronik.This collection represents a choice selection of key early works that begins with 'Ascend', whose spacey dub atmosphere is one of the 1990's hidden ambient dub gems. 'Vapor' complete's the a-side with its other-wordly trip into organic and spatial dub ambience. The b-side features the 16+ minute magnificent ethereal odyssey 'Windgate 11:11', that has been a fan favourite for over 25 years now. The 22-minute peak track named 'Oberon (Greymatter) that spreads across the C side was taken from his debut EP 'Realignment' of his Modulation Elektronik label in 1993. Perhaps the most proto-techno track on here, it is prime example of the freeform expression of the time in ambient dub. The last track featured here is one that shares the same title; Adham Shaikh's most revered and most beloved album 'Journey to the Sun'.

Availability: In stock


Adham Shaikh - Early Works (1992-1994) [PRE-ORDER] - re:discovery records - rd005

Genre Ambient, Dub
Notes A1: Taken from Ambient Systems 2 (1994)
A2: Taken from Plug in & Turn on x2 (1994)
B1: Taken from Ambient Systems 1 (1993)
C1: Taken from the mini album Realignment (1992)
D1: Taken from the album Journey to the Sun (1994)

Each track is featured on vinyl for the first time